For Malawi, for the youths of Salima

“I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community and as long as I live, it is my privilege to do it for whatever I can. I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work the more I live”- George Bernard Shaw.

On Wednesday 16th October, I achieved one of my life’s most ambitious dreams, graduating from the University of Malawi with a credit pass in my Bachelor’s degree.  But my joy was short-lived. A very simple question a random person asked on Twitter pricked my balloon of joy.

From my primary school days at Salima LEA School, I had a dream that I would study Journalism at Chancellor College. I later realized my preferred program was offered at the Malawi Polytechnic, so, I enrolled for a Diploma in Journalism in 2013 with one mission in mind: “this Diploma will be my gateway to Chancellor College.” By God’s grace I completed my studies in 2015 and got a Credit.  As per my aspiration, I always viewed my Diploma as a VISA into my Bachelor’s and now that I had my passport, the question was: Where do I go? The lesson? Look beyond today!

Chancellor College was still on top of my head, but I found University of Malawi’s mature entry two years requirement as prohibitive. I wasn’t ready to wait two years. I made a resolve to join any other college, whether private or religious as long as I would get a Bachelor’s. That was before I had a brief chat with one Zandi Kankhuni at the Game Complex when he came to Malawi on a break from his Master’s studies. I recall how he re-ignited my passion for the University of Malawi, not asserting its superiority, but reminding me why I had to wait. The lesson? Have someone who reminds you of your dreams.

The time I was starting my Diploma studies at the Polytechnic, I met one young man who advised me on how to find my path through college. I remember him urging me not to be satisfied with being in class. “Sam, make sure you create good relationships with your lecturers and be in search of opportunities for any kind of volunteer work. You will need it after college”, said Dave Mankhokwe Namusanya.

The lesson from Dave saw me have short internship and volunteer roles while I was still a student with Maziko Radio station as a Newsroom Intern, Business News writer at The Business Magazine,  a year at The Polytechnic’s Department of Journalism and Media as a Communications and Digital Media Intern, three months at Malawi Broadcasting Corporation radio section as an intern, Modern Education and Training Institute as a Journalism Tutor and finally at Cornerstone Ministries Malawi who subsequently became my first post-graduation employers.

My narrated experience gave me the guts to challenge the University of Malawi by applying for the mature entry Bachelor of Arts in Communication and Cultural studies degree at Chancellor College in 2016, just about six months after I completed my Diploma studies. My friends cautioned me that the University is serious with the two years’ work experience they indicated on the advert. I remember visiting every office I had interned to collect reference letters. I still think my application was one of the heaviest with the constellation of reference letters I gathered from more than three employers.  Came July 2016, I was among the lucky few accepted into the program.

After almost a year’s delay, I stepped on the corridors of my most revered college on 7th August 2017, armed with a resolve to get a degree with Credit, a Pass not being among my options. But the two years of school taught me humility. Sharing notes and discussing points with people I used to hear and admire on the radio is an experience that will never be erased from my memory. I recall many generic students who became my friends asking me what it was like being in the same class with Zodiak Broadcasting Station owner, Gospel Kazako. To me, it was just like being in a classroom with John Namalenga Junior at the Malawi Polytechnic, just that Gospel had more experience which we learned from.

Due to academic pressure, there were days I forewent my degree with Credit dreams and accepted that just a degree would be enough. After all who cares? But then, my girlfriend who had graduated a year earlier from the Polytechnic cared. She always pushed me to give it all into my studies.

IMG-20191017-WA0080
With my mother soon after getting my paper.

Last week the dream came to pass. The Credit degree was bagged. Now to the question that broke my joy.  As we were busy flaunting our beautiful pictures holding degrees, a random Twitter user asked: “Should we tell these new graduates the truth?” It hit me hard. I knew she was apparently referring to Malawi’s job market.

The question took me back to several times I have traveled to schools in Salima with my Youth Empowerment and Support Initiative mentors team to inspire secondary school students to work hard, go to college and subsequently achieve their dreams. Should we stop our noble task because of this scary question?

Mine has been a long bumpy journey. From a family where none – both from my father and mother’s clan – went past secondary school, I have always believed that education is the key that opens doors to opportunities.

On that beautiful Wednesday I stepped up to have my hands clasped by the University of Malawi Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Professor Al Mtenje, I believed it wasn’t just me going to the top, it  represented hope and a world of possibilities for  all Malawians like me, for all the youths of Salima.

4 thoughts on “For Malawi, for the youths of Salima”

  1. Nice article. I have enjoyed the read.

    On Wed, Oct 30, 2019 at 1:08 AM samuelmalasabanda wrote:

    > Samuel Malasa Banda posted: ““I am of the opinion that my life belongs to > the whole community and as long as I live, it is my privilege to do it for > whatever I can. I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder > I work the more I live”- George Bernard Shaw. On Wednesday 1” >

Leave a comment